The Watermill Center’s Artist Residency Program began in 2006, when The Center officially opened as a year-round facility. Each year collectives and individual artists take up residence at The Center to live and develop works that critically investigate, challenge and extend the existing norms of artistic practice. Artists-in-Residence share their creative process with the community through open rehearsals, workshops and artist talks.

Artists-in-Residence receive access to an extensive collection of resources central to the Watermill experience: 20,000 square feet of rehearsal/design spaces and outdoor stages; a theater production archive; The Watermill Center Study Library; The Watermill Center Collection; and The Center’s eight-and-a-half acre landscaped grounds and sculpture gardens.

Applications are reviewed by a distinguished international selection committee composed of artists, academics, and cultural leaders across all disciplines. To date, we have hosted over 170 residencies featuring artists from more than 65 nations.

Support our Artists-in-Residence by making a donation today! 

photo © Lindsay Morris


BAKIS, Carlos Bunga, Lilian Colosso, Jeremy Dennis, Sebastian Escalona & Josefina Dagorret, Fan Letters, Stacey Goodman, Lexy Ho-Tai The Hutto Project, Marianna Kavallieratos & Dom Bouffard, Lotte Nielsen, NoodleRice, Brian O’Mahoney, Aneta Panek, PHYSICAL PLASTIC, P.L.U.T.O., Lua Rivera, Cleek Schrey, William Stewart, Gillian Walsh, Royce Weatherly, Carrie Mae Weems


7 Daughters of Eve Thtr. & Perf. Co, BOOMERANG, Hans-Jörn Brandenburg, Sophia Brous, Kenneth Collins, Cuerpo Indisciplinado (Undisciplined Body), Joe Diebes, El Colegio del Cuerpo, Francesca Fini, Joss Lake, Zeinab Shahidi Marnini, Armando Mariño, Mary Mattingly, Noel Mckenna, Rashaun Mitchell and Silas Riener, Sahra Motalebi, Ebe Oke, Andrew Ondrejcak, Alan Lucien Øyen, G.T Pellizzi, Matthew Prest and Clare Britton, Acción Residente, Lisa Ross, Zach Eugene Salinger-Simonson, Basco Vazko, Tori Wrånes, Netta Yerushalmy


Mary Ellen Bartley, Oliver Beer, Cirkus Cirkör, Julian Crouch & Saskia Lane, Tamar Ettun, Geoffrey Farmer, Kristen Foote, Catherine Galasso, Manuela Infante with Teatro de Chile, Tomek Jeziorski, Amy Khoshbin & Sarah Dahnke, Natacha Mankowski, Hélène Patarot, Carlos Soto


Brittany Bailey, Tacy Borg, José Carlos Casado, Maya Chami, Jayoung Chung, Jack Ferver, Fanni Futterknecht & Marianne Vlaschits, Annie Gosfield, Marsela La Grave, Tilman Hecker, Mohammed Kazem, Lydian Junction, Roman Paska, Álvaro Restrepo / El Colegio del Cuerpo, Amber Hawk Swanson, Temporary Distortion, Entang Wiharso


John Atwood, Outspoken Bean, Dictaphone Group, Catherine Galasso, Dance Heginbotham, Cynthia Hopkins, Laleh Khorramian, Christopher Knowles, Roman Paska, Ibrahim Quraishi, Kamala Sankaram, Collaboration Town, VisionIntoArt


Theo Adams Company, John Bock, Nova Jiang, Bridget Leak, Rachel Libeskind, John Messinger Catarina de Oliveira, Tristan Perich, Katharina Schmitt, Samita Sinha, Anna Telcs, Halldór Úlfarsson, Davyde Wachell and Davíð Brynjar Franzson, The Wet Weather Ensemble, Christopher Williams


Abbas Akhavan, Davide Balliano, Keil Borrman, Columbia Arts Collaboration Lab, Degenerate Art Ensemble, Daniel Knox and John Atwood, Krymov Lab, David Levine, Carlos Murillo, Shahryar Nashat, Shirin Neshat, People Get Ready, Sasha Petrenko & WWAWUT, Egill Sæjörnsson, SS, Theatercombinat, Allie Avital Tsypin and Gabrielle Herbst, Tereza Velikova, Megan Whitmarsh and My Barbarian, WorldWideLab: A Directors Festival


Anu Productions, CHOKRA, Collaboration Town, The Constant Reality Theater, Kevin Doyle, Michael Dudeck, Colin Gee, André Gringras, Andreas Hirsch, Erin Leland, David Levine, Judah Mahay, Stary Mwaba, Christopher Roth, Alexandra Sachs, Georgie Roxby Smith, SOBER & LONELY