The second Art & Science: Insights into Consciousness Workshop was focused on the project Measuring the Magic of Mutual Gaze, which was shown at Marina Abramovic’ retrospective exhibition The Artist is Present at the Garage Center for Contemporary Culture (Moscow, 2011). A draft of the installation/experiment was presented and discussed, and a debriefing interview of the subjective experience was developed.

All past workshops: 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

Marina Abramovic (Steering Committee until 2015), Performance Artist
Dr. Katherine Bergeron (2011), Dean of Brown University and Professor of Music
Dr. Nadia Bruschweiler-Stern (Steering Committee), Pediatrician and Psychiatrist, Director of the Swiss Brazelton Center and Member of the Boston Change Process Study Group
Dr. Mikhail Burtsev (2011), Research Scientist at the Department of Nonlinear Dynamics, Keldysh Institute of Applied Mathematics, Russian Academy of Sciences
Dr. BJ Casey (2010-2012), Sackler Professor and Director of the Sackler Institute for Developmental Psychobiology at Weill Medical College of Cornell University
Dr. Suzanne Dikker (Steering Committee), Research Scientist, New York University Department of Psychology, Utrecht University; American Museum of Natural History’s Brain Educator
Dr. William Fifer (Steering Committee), Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatrics at Columbia University
Dr. James C. Frauenthal (2011 – 2016), Applied Mathematician
Dr. Vittorio Gallese, MD (2011-2013), Professor of Physiology in the Department of Neuroscience of the School of Medicine at the University of Parma
Dr. Andrew J. Gerber (Steering Committee), Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry in the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at Columbia University Medical Center
Dr. Jay Gingrich (2011-2016), Sackler Professor and Director of the Sackler Institute for Developmental Psychobiology at Columbia University
Dr. Scott Makeig (2011), Research Scientist and Director of the Swartz Center for Computational Neuroscience & the Institute for Neural Computation, University of California San Diego
Matt Mullican (2011), Visual and Performance Artist
Dr. Declan Murphy Sackler Professor and Director of the Sackler Institute for Translational Neurodevelopment at King’s College, London
Matthias Oostrik (2011), Interactive Media Artist
Daria Parkhomenko (2011, 2012), Director of LABORATORIA Art & Science Space
Dr. Joseph Butch Rovan (2011), Associate Professor of Music, Brown University
Ilene Sackler Lefcourt (Steering Committee), Columbia University, Parent-Infant Program Faculty
Dr. Kathe Sackler (Steering Committee), Board Member, Mortimer D. Sackler, MD Family Foundation
Dr. Daniel Stern †, Honorary Professor at the University of Geneva and Adjunct Professor of Psychiatry at Cornell Medical School
Jorn Weisbrodt (2010, 2011), Arts Administrator
Dr. Myrna Weissman (Steering Committee), Professor of Psychiatry, Sackler Institute for Developmental Psychobiology at Columbia University, Depression Epidemiologist
Robert Wilson (Steering Committee), Artist and Artistic Director/Founder of The Watermill Center
Dr. Jason Zevin (2011), Assistant Professor of Psychology in Psychiatry at the Sackler Institute for Developmental Psychobiology