The Byrd Hoffman Water Mill Foundation, operator of The Watermill Center, is an organization founded by Robert Wilson to provide a supportive environment for emerging artists to explore new ideas and foster their career development. Watermill provides a haven for the next generation of artists who embrace avant-garde, multidisciplinary approaches. The Foundation also documents the work of Robert Wilson and his collaborators and manages The Robert Wilson ArchiveThe Watermill Study Library. A not-for-profit, 501(c)3 tax-exempt organization, The Byrd Hoffman Water Mill Foundation was chartered in 1969 in the State of New York.

Robert Wilson, Founder & Artistic Director
Linda Jackson, Managing Director of the Byrd Hoffman Water Mill Foundation
Elka Rifkin, Director of The Watermill Center

Clifford Allen, Director of Archives
Micah Bozeman, Director of Visual Arts Programming
Ron Harrison, Finance Director
Noah Khoshbin, Curator
Mary Ellen Obias, Director of Institutional Giving

Kira Alker, Watermill Center Assistant
Nixon Beltran, Center Manager
Andrea Cote, Education Program Coordinator
Kelly Dennis, Public Programs & Residency Coordinator
Stuart Foster, Caretaker
Dana Kautto, Assistant Archivist
Elke Luyten, Watermill Center Assistant
Brian O’Mahoney, Communications Manager
Nika Sourakov, Development Assistant
Marie de Testa, Designer
Erin Wainwright, Manager of Special Events and Individual Giving

External Companies
BKD LLP, Accounting Firm

Board of Trustees

William Campbell, Chairman, President of Sanoch Management
Roger Ferris, Secretary, Founder of Roger Ferris + Partners
Robert Wilson, Artistic Director of The Watermill Center

Karolina Blaberg, Patron of the Arts, The Karolina Blaberg Foundation
Lisa Ehrenkranz, Photographer, Patron of the Arts
Audrey B. Gruss, Founder and Chairman of the Hope for Depression Research Foundation
Stein Erik Hagen, Orkla Group

In Memoriam

Giancarla Berti, Patron of the Arts
Gabriele Henkel, Henkel Industries
Stephen D. Susman, Managing Partner, Susman Godfrey

Advisory Committee

Irving Benson, Chair (in memoriam)
Alexandra Munroe, Chair
Charles Fabius, Vice-chair
Jörn Weisbrodt, Vice-chair

Giorgio Armani
Pierre Bergé (in memoriam)
Christophe de Menil
Simon de Pury
Christoph Eschenbach
Philip Glass
Rhoda Grauer
Donna Karan
Lummi U. Kieren
Thomas Krens
Annie Leibovitz
Jessye Norman (in memoriam)
Inga Maren Otto
Michael Otto
Isabella Rossellini
Richard Serra
Cindy Sherman
Tom Waits

Marina Abramovic, Performance Artist, Serbia
Marie-Claude Beaud, Director, National Museum of Monaco, Monaco
Kristy Edmunds, Executive and Artistic Director, UCLA Live, USA
Jonathan Safran Foer, Writer, USA
RoseLee Goldberg, Founding Director and Curator, Performa, USA
Alanna Heiss, Director, Art International Radio and Founding Director, PS1, USA
Jürgen Kluge, Chairman of the Haniel Managing Board
Xavier Le Roy, Choreographer and Performer, France
Michael Morris, Co-Director, Artangel, and Director, Cultural Industry, UK
Ida Nicolaisen, Senior Researcher, Copenhagen University, Co-Chair Emeritus, United Nations Permanent Forum of Indigenous Issues, Denmark
Carla Peterson, Director of Maggie Allesee National Center for Choreography (MANCC) at Florida State University
Jose Roca, Curator, Columbia
John Rockwell, Journalist, USA
Jay Sanders, Executive Director and Chief Curator, Artists Space, New York
Dr. Thomas F. Schutte, Former President, Pratt Institute, USA
Richard Sennett, Sociologist and Cultural Critic, New York University and London School of Economics, USA
Taryn Simon, Visual Artist, USA
Elisabeth Sussman, Curator and Sondra Gilman Curator of Photography, Whitney Museum of American Art, USA
Nike Wagner, Director, Beethovenfest, Germany
Carrie Mae Weems, Artist, United States
Jorn Weisbrodt, Former Artistic Director, Luminato Festival
Robert Wilson, Theater Director, Visual Artist and Artistic Director, The Watermill Center

Josh Halsey
Sylvia Hommert
Kimberly Goff
Hope Sandrow
Dale Scott
Isabel Sepulveda
Susan Lazarus-Reimen
Mae Mougin
Irene Tully
Em Watson
Claire Watson
Shane Weeks

Copies of the Byrd Hoffman Water Mill Foundation’s most recent and previous audited financial statements can be downloaded below in PDF format, or printed copies can be obtained by contacting the Foundation Administrative office at 212-253-7484.

Audited Financial Statements
20172016 | 2015

Form 990 available upon request.

For more information about The Byrd Hoffman Water Mill Foundation’s finances and operations, please visit our GuideStar profile HERE.

Join our dedicated team of talented professionals who share a passion for the arts, and help us continue our mission of providing artists with the time, space and freedom to create and inspire.

The Watermill Center and Byrd Hoffman Water Mill Foundation are equal opportunity employers, dedicated to creating a welcoming and diverse workplace.


  • to be announced