Foundation 2017-11-10T03:18:08+00:00


The Byrd Hoffman Water Mill Foundation, operator of The Watermill Center, is an organization founded by Robert Wilson to provide a supportive environment for emerging artists to explore new ideas and foster their career development. Watermill provides a haven for the next generation of artists who embrace avant-garde, multidisciplinary approaches. The Foundation also documents the work of Robert Wilson and his collaborators and manages The Robert Wilson Archive, The Watermill Study Library. A not-for-profit, 501(c)3 tax-exempt organization, The Byrd Hoffman Water Mill Foundation was chartered in 1969 in the State of New York.


Robert Wilson, Founder & Artistic Director
Claude Grunitzky, President
Linda Jackson, Managing Director
Elka Rifkin, Watermill Center Director

Elise Herget, Director of Individual Giving and Special Events
Daneyal Mahmood, Director of Visual Arts Programming
Danielle Mayer, Director of Public Relations & Communications
Mary Ellen Obias, Director of Institutional Giving
Noah Khoshbin, Curator

Kira Alker, Watermill Center Assistant
Clifford Allen, Archivist
Nixon Beltran, Center Manager
Rosa Bledsoe, Development Associate
Andrea Cote, Education Program Coordinator
Ilya Elberg, Finance Associate
Stuart Foster, Caretaker
Elke Luyten, Watermill Center Assistant
Brian O’Mahoney, Office Manager & Communications Associate
Deb Verhoff, Librarian
Erin Wainwright, Manager of Special Events and Individual Giving
Almond Zigmund, Public Programs & Residency Coordinator

External Companies
Loeb & Troper LLP, Accounting Firm
Dixon & Company, Bookeeping and Financial Management Services Firm


William Campbell, Chairman, President of Sanoch Management, New York
Roger Ferris, Secretary, Founder of Roger Ferris + Partners, Westport, Connecticut
Martin Brand, Treasurer, Senior Managing Director of Private Equity at The Blackstone Group, New York
Robert Wilson, Artistic Director, New York

Shaikha Paula Al-Sabah, Patron of the Arts, Kuwait City
Giancarla Berti, Patron of the Arts, Milan
Jürgen Friedrich, Esprit Holdings Ltd, Southampton, New York
Claude Grunitzky, President of The Byrd Hoffman Water Mill Foundation, New York
Audrey B. Gruss, Founder and Chairman of the Hope for Depression Research Foundation
Stein Erik Hagen, Orkla Group, Oslo
Gabriele Henkel, Henkel Industries, Dusseldorf (in memoriam)
Roberta Sherman, Patron of the Arts, San Francisco/Seattle


Irving Benson, Chair (In Memoriam)
Charles Fabius, Vice-chair
Jörn Weisbrodt, Vice-chair

Giorgio Armani
Pierre Bergé
Christophe de Menil
Simon de Pury
Christoph Eschenbach
Philip Glass
Rhoda Grauer
Donna Karan
Lummi U. Kieren
Thomas Krens
Annie Leibovitz
Jessye Norman
Inga Maren Otto
Michael Otto
Isabella Rossellini
Richard Serra
Cindy Sherman
Tom Waits


Marina Abramovic, Performance Artist, Serbia
Marie-Claude Beaud, Director, National Museum of Monaco, Monaco
Kristy Edmunds, Executive and Artistic Director, UCLA Live, USA
Jonathan Safran Foer, Writer, USA
RoseLee Goldberg, Founding Director and Curator, Performa, USA
Alanna Heiss, Director, Art International Radio and Founding Director, PS1, USA
Jürgen Kluge, Chairman of the Haniel Managing Board
Xavier Le Roy, Choreographer and Performer, France
Michael Morris, Co-Director, Artangel, and Director, Cultural Industry, UK
Ida Nicolaisen, Senior Researcher, Copenhagen University, Co-Chair Emeritus, United
Nations Permanent Forum of Indigenous Issues, Denmark
Carla Peterson, Artistic Director, New York Live Arts, USA
John Rockwell, Journalist, USA
Jay Sanders, Executive Director and Chief Curator, Artists Space, New York
Dr. Thomas F. Schutte, Former President, Pratt Institute, USA
Richard Sennett, Sociologist and Cultural Critic, New York University and London School of Economics, USA
Taryn Simon, Visual Artist, USA
Elisabeth Sussman, Curator and Sondra Gilman Curator of Photography, Whitney Museum of American Art, USA
Nike Wagner, Director, Beethovenfest, Germany
Jorn Weisbrodt, Former Artistic Director, Luminato Festival
Robert Wilson, Theater Director, Visual Artist and Artistic Director, The Watermill Center


Sharon Cook
Kimberly Goff
Sylvia Hommert
Roberta Hunter
Susan Lazarus-Reimen
Mae Mougin
Carole Rosenberg
Hope Sandrow
Isabel Sepulveda
Irene Tully
Claire Watson
Shane Weeks

Financial Information

Copies of the Byrd Hoffman Water Mill Foundation’s most recent and previous audited financial statements can be downloaded below in PDF format, or printed copies can be obtained by contacting the Foundation Administrative office at 212-253-7484.

Audited Financial Statements

Form 990

For more information about The Byrd Hoffman Water Mill Foundation’s finances and operations, please visit our GuideStar profile HERE.